EarthScope Transportable Array Observations in the Alaskan Arctic

EarthScope’s Transportable Array is now fully operational, providing a state-of-the-art science observatory spanning the entire state of Alaska and portions of Canada!


The red symbols show the Transportable Array fully deployed across Alaska and northwestern Canada. Locations of newly deployed stations are shown by circles (~200), while contributing stations from existing collaborating networks are shown with squares and triangles (~80). The small black symbols are stations in the Alaska Earthquake Center network (circles) and the Yukon-Northwest Seismic Network (triangles).

Nearly 280 geophysical stations have been deployed across Alaska and northwestern Canada in the last three years, supported by funding from the National Science Foundation and with the collaboration of many local, state, federal and native organizations. Transportable Array crews traveled by helicopter, boat and truck to install stations in some of the most remote locations on Earth! The stations are equipped with seismometers, weather sensors, infrasound, and other instruments, which record and transmit observations instantly and continuously, 24/7. The observations are freely available to anyone with internet access.

This meeting will bring together Transportable Array stakeholders and interested parties to provide information on the following:

  • the capabilities of the new network,
  • the existing partnerships (federal, state, private) that have been created to complete and use the Transportable Array,
  • present and future observing opportunities for this unprecedented new network of autonomous “micro-observatories”.

We are particularly interested in exploring  inter-agency / multi-agency interests and opportunities for how the Transportable Array observing capability can be used, particularly with respect to the compatibility of different observing interests. The National Science Foundation has committed only to a short duration deployment but is open to broadening the application to other science observations for longer durations, if the obligation to remove the stations is shared or undertaken by other stakeholders.

Please join us for a half-day program (no cost) that will focus on the capabilities of this network and the impact it is having on scientific research and operational monitoring in areas as diverse as earthquakes, weather forecasting, volcanoes, tsunamis, and ecosystems.

DATE:        Wednesday, May 30, 2018
TIME:         9:00 am – 11:30 am (registration and refreshments starting at 8:30 am)
ROOM:      Abelson-Haskins Conference Room, 2nd Floor
PLACE:     American Association for the Advancement of Science
                  (building where IRIS Headquarters is located)
                  1200 New York Avenue, NW
                  Washington, DC 20005
                  202-682-2220 (IRIS HQ)

            **   Please enter building at the corner of 12th Street, NW and H Street, NW  **

Remote attendees can sign on via GoToMeeting: https://global.gotomeeting.com/join/810978277. You can also dial in using your phone: +1 (571) 317-3122, Access Code 810-978-277. Please RSVP if you plan to call-in.

RSVP

For more information about the EarthScope Transportable Array in Alaska, visit our website.

View the program and presentation slides from a similar meeting, "EarthScope Transportable Array Spans the Last Frontier", held in Anchorage in October 2017.

Questions about the event? Contact Perle Dorr.

AGENDA

Slides have been posted as .pdfs. Movies and editable slides in .pptx format can be requested.

8:00 Refreshments  
9:00 Welcome and Introductions  
  Alaska Transportable Array: An Arctic Observing Platform Bob Woodward, IRIS Consortium
  Alaska Transportable Array: As Built Bob Busby, IRIS Consortium
 

Diverse and Interdisciplinary Observations

  • Volcano Infrasound
  • Sea Ice
  • Magnetic Field
  • Weather
  • Soil Temperature
Kasey Aderhold, IRIS Consortium
  Future Plans for the Alaska Transportable Array Bob Woodward, IRIS Consortium
10:15 BREAK  
10:45

Observing Applications and Interests

Open for Presentations
 

Discussion and Next Steps

  • Follow up webmeeting TBD
All
11:30 Concluding Remarks Bob Woodward, IRIS Consortium

Alaska Transportable Array Meeting
Washington, DC - May 30, 2018

Participant List
(* virtual attendee)

Kasey Aderhold
IRIS
Project Associate
kasey@iris.edu
202-407-7019

Maggie Benoit
NSF
EarthScope Program Director
mbenoit@nsf.gov
703-292-7233

*Katherine Boggs
Mount Royal University / CCArray
kboggs@mtroyal.ca
403-440-6645

Robert Busby
IRIS
Transportable Array Manager
busby@iris.edu
508-801-7628

Perle Dorr
IRIS
Public Outreach Manager
dorr@iris.edu
202-407-7004

Kaiwi Eisenhour
US Senate
Energy and Natural Resources Committee
Kaiwi_Eisenhour@energy.senate.gov
808-652-4495

Max Enders
IRIS
Station Deployment Coordinator
enders@iris.edu
907-344-0021

Andrew Frassetto
IRIS
Senior Project Associate
andyf@iris.edu
202-407-7013

Peter Griffith
NASA
Director, Carbon Cycle & Ecosystems Office
peter.c.griffith@nasa.gov
301.614.6610

Kathy Hibbard
NASA
Earth Sciences Program Scientist
kathleen.a.hibbard@nasa.gov
202-358-0682

David Kennedy
NOAA
202-482-5135
David.Kennedy@noaa.gov

Glen Mattioli
UNAVCO, Inc.
Director of Geodetic Infrastructure
mattioli@unavco.org
303-381-7554

Joshua McCurry
Earth System Science Interdisciplinary Center
Faculty Assistant
joshua.mccurry@noaa.gov
301-852-3074

Shaugn Ostrowski
DTRA
shaugh.e.ostrowski.civ@mail.mil
703-767-4757

Joseph Pica
NOAA / National Weather Service
Director, Office of Observations
Joseph.A.Pica@noaa.gov
301-427-9778

Carven Scott
NOAA/NWS/Alaska Region Headquarters
Regional Director
carven.scott@noaa.gov
907-382-0218

*Simon Stephenson
NSF
GEO/OPP
sstephen@nsf.gov
703-292-7435

Frank Vernon
University of California, San Diego
Array Network Facility
flvernon@ucsd.edu
858-534-5537

*Erin Whitney
University of Alaska Fairbanks (UAF)
Alaska Center for Energy and Power (ACEP), Institute of Northern Engineering (INE)
Research Assistant Professor
erin.whitney@alaska.edu
303-902-6450

*Michael Wiltberger
NSF
Geospace, Section Head
mwiltber@nsf.gov
703-292-4960

Cecily J Wolfe
US Geological Survey
Natural Hazards
cwolfe@usgs.gov
703-648-6714

Bob Woodward
IRIS
Director of Instrumentation Services
woodward@IRIS.edu
202-407-7001