The IRIS governance and management structure is an interface among the scientific community, funding agencies, and IRIS programs. The structure is designed to ensure close involvement of the research community in the development of IRIS facilities, focus scientific talent on common objectives, encourage broad participation, and effectively manage IRIS programs. Each year, over 50 scientists from member institutions participate in IRIS management through its Board of Directors, eight regular committees, and ad hoc advisory groups. Standing committees maintain community oversight while program managers are responsible for day-to-day activities. Committee scientists work with a professional staff at IRIS led by the President, Director of Planning, Director of Project Administration, Director of Finance and Administration, and the five program managers. Representatives of the full set of member institutions elect the nine-member Board of Directors.

Board of Directors

Core Program Committees

Committee Upcoming Meeting
Data Management System (DMS) Standing Committee Mar 20-21 2014,
SCEC, University of Southern California
Education and Public Outreach (EPO) Standing Committee Mar 28-29 2014,
Washington DC
Global Seismographic Network (GSN) Standing Committee Mar 10-13 2014,
Lamont NY
Portable Array Seismic Studies of the Continental Lithosphere (PASSCAL) Standing Committee Mar 17-18 2014,
Washington DC

Other Board Committees

Governance Structure

Download as a PDF

  OBSIP GLISN Polar TAAC EMAC GSN Instrumentation PASSCAL Data Services EPO CoCOM UNAVCO USGS BOD International