Job Opening

PhD and MSc opportunities in seismology, geodesy, and geodynamics at the University of Victoria, Canada

School of Earth and Ocean Sciences, University of Victoria

Posted: 07/25/2022

Open Until: 12/31/2023

The School of Earth and Ocean Sciences, University of Victoria, Canada, is offering PhD and MSc opportunities in geodynamics and earthquake science, with a flexible start time. Graduate research options include natural and induced earthquakes, earthquake deformation, tsunami processes, subduction zone geodynamics, structural seismology, glacial isostatic adjustment, glacial change, sea level change, and so forth. Depending on the research topic and individual interest, the graduate research may involve field investigations, marine expeditions, terrestrial and subsea geophysical and geodetic monitoring, analysis of seismological, geodetic, and remote sensing data, and/or numerical modelling. The students will have opportunities to interact with the team of scientists in the nearby Pacific Geoscience Centre, Geological Survey of Canada, and contribute to Canadian national programs regarding natural hazards and climate change.

The University of Victoria strives to promote an environment of equity, diversity, and inclusiveness as well as a stimulating research atmosphere. The city of Victoria, located on Vancouver Island on Canada’s west coast, is known for its natural beauty and easy access to a wide variety of outdoor activities all year round. Its geographic setting in the forearc of the northern Cascadia subduction zone presents a natural laboratory of active tectonics. All students enjoy British Columbia’s Medical Service Plan and many other social benefits.

Professors or Adjunct Professors listed below are currently seeking new students. Prospective students are encouraged to contact any of these people and check application details online.
John Cassidy (earthquake seismology, engineering seismology; John.Cassidy@nrcan-rncan.gc.ca)
Honn Kao (broadband seismology, natural and induced earthquakes; honn.kao@NRCan-RNCan.gc.ca),
Tom James (sea level change, glacial isostatic adjustment; Thomas.James@nrcan-rncan.gc.ca),
Yan Jiang (geodesy, crustal deformation; yjiang1@uvic.ca),
Ed Nissen (seismology, active tectonics; enissen@uvic.ca),
Andrew Schaeffer (broadband seismology, seismic imaging; andrew.schaeffer@NRCan-RNCan.gc.ca),
Tianhaozhe Sun (geodynamics, marine geophysics; tianhaozhe.sun@NRCan-RNCan.gc.ca),
Kelin Wang (modelling, subduction zone geodynamics; kelin@uvic.ca)

How to Apply

This job was posted by a member of the IRIS community. For clarification or details about this position, please use the contact information found in the job posting itself.