Transportable Array Advisory Committee

Current Members

Last NameFirst NameInstitutionRoleSinceUntil
Busby Bob IRIS Progr. Manager 2005 Present
Kiser Eric The University of Arizona Member 2017 2019
Vernon Frank University of California, San Diego Observer 2014 Present
Abers Geoffrey Cornell University Chair 2019 2021
Gilbert Hersh University of Calgary Member 2018 2020
Stachnik Josh Lehigh University Member 2017 2019
Ruppert Natalia University of Alaska, Fairbanks Member 2017 2019
Wech Aaron G. US Geological Survey, AVO Member 2018 2020

Committee Historical Members Overview


Committee Charge

The Transportable Array Advisory Committee (TAAC) will review and provide advice on the operation, evolution, and technical performance of the USArray Transportable Array. The TAAC is neither a science planning nor operations committee, but should review TA operations in the context of the science framework for USArray and EarthScope, including and annual review of the Scope Management Plan. The TAAC will cultivate and incorporate community input and participation regarding the operational and scientific aspects of the TA, via convening of special interest groups or other mechanisms. The Transportable Array Manager will be the primary IRIS staff liaison with the Advisory Committee and will coordinate with the TAAC Chair to develop topics and questions for review and action by the TAWG.

The Committee will meet as needed, but no less than twice per year, and will provide an annual written report to the IS SC, the IRIS President and Board of Directors. Additionally, the Committee maybe charged with reviewing special topics and questions requiring prompt action. Members of the Committee are appointed by the Board of Directors and serve renewable three-year terms.


Meeting Minutes and Action Items

2019 Feb
2018 Nov Apr
2017 Oct Mar
2016 Oct Mar
2015 Oct Aug