Electromagnetic Advisory Committee

Current Members

Evans, Rob (Chair) Woods Hole Oceanographic Institution
Bedrosian, Paul (Ex officio) USGS, Denver
Bennington, Ninfa University of Wisconsin-Madison
Ferguson, Ian University of Manitoba
Key, Kerry University of California, San Diego
Schulte-Pelkum, Vera University of Colorado Boulder
Worthington, Lindsay Lowe University of New Mexico
Schultz, Adam (Observer)      Oregon State University (MT Subaward PI)
Frassetto, Andy IRIS (Instrumentation Services Senior Project Associate)


Committee Charge

The Electromagnetic Advisory Committee (EMAC) will review and provide advice on the operation, evolution, and technical performance of the USArray Magnetotelluric Array. The EMAC is neither a science planning nor operations committee, but should review MT operations in the context of the science framework for USArray and EarthScope. The EMAC will cultivate and incorporate community input and participation regarding the operational and scientific aspects of the MT effort, via convening of special interest groups or other mechanisms. The MT Project Lead and the MT Subaward PI will be the primary IRIS staff liaisons with the Advisory Committee and will coordinate with the EMAC Chair to develop topics and questions for review and action by the EMAC.

The Committee will meet as needed, but no less than twice per year, and will provide an annual written report to the IS SC, the IRIS President and Board of Directors. Additionally, the Committee may be charged with reviewing special topics and questions requiring prompt action. Members of the Committee are appointed by the Board of Directors and serve renewable three-­year terms.